Cultural Differences

There is a fine line between cultural differences and accepting them. Don’t get me wrong, I’m a very open and accepting person of any religion, culture, ethnicity, gender, sexual preference, etc. However, when my mother reads my resume and tells me how I am also a very outgoing and sociable person, I couldn’t help but wonder where she was going with this statement. She then asks me why I don’t come with her to her dinner parties where I have such a great opportunity of being even more social and friendly. First off, I choose not to go with my parents to these dinners because I’m not 5 years old anymore and forced to dress up appropriately and attend. I am simply exploring and utilizing my new option of choice. I choose, therefore I am! Anyway, I go on to explain (well more like argue in this case) with my mom at how I have nothing in common with these people, and how I would rather not suffer for four hours by sitting on a couch in some random house. These dinner parties consist of Bengali couples (in the age range of forty to fifty years of age) all of whom have annoying children under the age of ten. They are very religious and traditional in their mindsets, and all sit segregated by gender in every room. Topics of conversation range from politics, Bengali culture in America, fish sales in Upper Darby and Bengali movies. I fit nowhere in the schematic of the dinner table arrangement, and 90% of the time end up staring at a wall for hours and daydreaming about Gerard Butler. At this point I got very heated as to why my mother expects me to go and “mingle” with the crowds at these parties when she knows I am bored to death and find the only positive of these nights to be the rice pudding served after dinner. I mutter an expletive here and there all of a sudden (I really need to remember that parents DO NOT equal friends) my mother dearest stomps upstairs in a fit of pre-teenage angst. One last glance backwards, and she declares me to “go hang out with my f***ing American friends.”

Well mom, all I have to say is, duh.

Leave a Reply

