The American Dream

So we have to move out of our house into a smaller apartment. The school where my dad works has decided to sell all the faculty houses in our lot, ours included. I’m afraid of going home and seeing the sadness in my dad’s eyes. His gardens are gone, his furniture he bought and other home furnishings have to be sold because they won’t fit in the apartment, and worst of all, his American Dream of having his own house has been sold to pay off debts for a dying military academy.

People ask me how I can do so much and not go crazy. This is why. So I can have some chance of being able to provide for my family. We don’t have anyone in this country to rely on, and I’ve grown up seeing way too much for me to not try and make a difference. The struggles of an immigrant are tragic; I felt such a strong connection to Jhumpa Lahiri’s “The Namesake” because it was like a mirror reflection of my own life. Lahiri says it best here, “I’ve inherited a sense of that loss from my parents because it was so palpable all the time while I was growing up, the sense of what my parents had sacrificed in moving to the United States, and yet at the same time, building a life here and all that that entailed…”

I strive to be the best I can and to do the most I can because, frankly, nothing in life is guaranteed. Why make limits for yourself, when pushing yourself beyond your boundaries and expectations is the greatest feeling in the world? Only by changing yourself can you change the world around you.

A friend told me that a cornered fox is smarter than a jackal, and to be the fox and find a solution. Weird advice, but I’m going to take it. All I can say is…Hello Craigslist.

Leave a Reply

